Edgewater's Child Study Team

Edgewater’s Child Study Team is comprised of a School Psychologist, a Learning Disability Teacher Consultant, a Social Worker, two Speech & Language Pathologists, and a Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA).

Responsibilities of the Child Study Team include maintaining compliance with federal, state and district guidelines. The Child Study Team determines the needs of special education students and, along with the IEP Team, the educational and related services to be included in the IEP in accordance with the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE). Referrals for evaluation to determine if a student qualifies for special education services can be made by school staff, parents, and medical, professional, and community agencies.

A designated member of the Child Study Team is assigned as a case manager to oversee all aspects of the special education process, beginning with the initial referral to when the special education student exits special education services or transitions to the Leonia School District for their seventh-grade year. The designated case manager oversees the implementation of the IEP and should be the first point of contact for any special education-related questions or concerns. 

Related Service providers include speech-language pathologists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, and school psychologists who provide related services to Edgewater’s special education students.  Service providers develop IEP goals and objectives to address deficits that impact our students academically.

Contact Us:

Ms. Patricia DeSanto

Social Worker

pdesanto@edgewtareschools.org

201-886-3480 ext. 1222

 

Ms. Sharon Nirenberg

LDTC

snirenberg@edgewaterschools.org

201-886-3480 ext. 1210

 

Ms. Courtney Owens

School Psychologist

cowens@edgewaterschools.org

201-886-3480 ext. 1207

 

 

Ms. Annette Scharf

Speech Pathologist

ascharf@edgewaterschools.org

201-886-2480 ext. 1214

 

Ms. Oliva Lada

Speech Pathologist

olada@edgewaterschools.org

201-886-3480 ext. 1214

 

Ms. Jennifer Hughes

BCBA

jhughes@edgewaterschools.org

201-886-3480 ext. 1250

 

Mr. Joseph Tramutolo

CST Supervisor

jtramutolo@edgewaterschools.org

201-886-3480 ext. 1209